Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
618 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

This weekend I took my bike in for scheduled maintenance to get that rascal ready for this riding season. My 08 GL calls for service at 8000 mi, so I called the dealership where I purchased the bike and asked how much this service cost. To my utter surprise, labor was going to be a little over $200 bucks with a final cost of around $300 including parts and labor. The service calls for a check of all fluids, oil and filter change, safety inspection, etc. I had been quoted a price for this service previously by this same dealer and the price was a little over $100. They denied having raised their prices.

Well, I called another dealership and asked the price for the same service...$126 plus tax. Needless to say, I took my bike there.

Now, I know that much of what they did I am capable of doing, but I am not a motorcycle mechanic and I just felt better having them look over the bike. I asked the dealer where I had the service doneif they knew why the other dealer wanted to charge me so much. The tech said that they probably were going to inspect the steering head bearings which, she said, was a pretty involved job taking several hours. She asked me ifI had anywobble or looseness in the front end and of course I don't. It drives straight, true and smoooooooth. So, shesaid that if I wanted to spend the money they'd check the bearings, but that it was not necessary if I wasn't having any problems even though Hondarecommends that the steering head bearing be checked at 8000 mi. My final bill was a little over $150 (b/c I wanted the synthetic blend Honda oil - less clunking).

After all of this, the question really is when is it prudent to check your steering head bearings? I don't want to let something go that might need attention.

Sorry for the long explanation...

Thanks,

DeDubya :18white:

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
imported post