Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have a query, I have been riding Goldwings for 30 years, I have a beautiful 1995 GL1500A Aspencade and is still my favourite, I also have a gl1800 which I use for daily commuting. I was considering updating my gl1800 to the new Goldwing Tourer and was reluctant as the top box was too small, on this year's edition they have increased the top box to 61L which is an improvement but I'm disapointed that the front and side fairings are still smaller than the GL1800. This is the only thing holding me back from purchasing the new Goldwing Tourer, it may sound ridiculous but reducing the size of the best motorcycle in the world just doesn't seem to be good marketing on behalf of Honda, maybe I'm missing something in the reasoning of why Honda reduced the presence of a commanding motorcycle on the road but increasing the top box up to 61L seems to suggest that they got it wrong by reducing it in the first instance, another reason I like the Goldwing Tourer is that the profile is very reminiscent of the GL1500A, anyway if someone has thoughts on this post I would love to hear them because like I said at the outset I love my Goldwings but the new Goldwing Tourer isn't quite there yet in satisfying the old riders like me and appealing to this current generation,one last thought I have spoken to 3 new Goldwing Tourer riders and all of them are selling to rebuy a GL1800 2016 upwards model before the change as they felt the front and side fairings was just too small compared to the GL1800, maybe Honda will rectify this by 2025 but if I had bought a Goldwing Tourer when they first launched I would feel hard done by. regards Goldwing Johnny

·
Premium Member
1998 GL1500SE
645 Posts
I'm sure I read somewhere that the newer Wing's safe weight carrying capacity is completely taken up by the average GoldWing rider and pillion...