Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi guys, since I'm still VERY new to the Goldwing world, and am waiting to try out my newly acquired 94 Wing, just what is meant by "syncing the carburetors" ? Is it easy to do? do you have to do it often? How do you know when? Just by changing the air filter does it mess up the sync? Any advise will be appreciated. Thx:?

·
Old Broad
3,843 Posts
imported post

A GREEEEAT BIG WELCOME TO THE BESTEST WING SITE ON THE WEB from Canada’s west coast, John. Hope you stay a long time. ;););););):cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:
Syncing is getting all carbs synchronized together. From what I have read, it is really not that difficult. In the search window, do a search for " carb syncing" there is a lot of posts on the subject.Or just read this how-to and watch the video:

GL1500 Carburettor Balancing

Good luck. Angela:waving::clapper::waving::clapper::waving::clapper::waving::clapper::waving:

·
Premium Member
494 Posts
imported post

Hi John, replacing the air filter shouldn't have anything to do with the carbs, as far as I know. There is a vacuum piston on each carb, so synchronising the carbs means to synchronise the "under-pressure" (vacuum) of each carburettor, as those should be in accord for all the carbs. The syncing is needed every time afteryou take the carbs off (for cleaning, float adjustment, etc.), it is recommended after you change the timing belts and it should be done anyway after a specified number of miles, as a maintenance job.
Here are instructions and photos showing how to change the GL1500 air filter:

GL1500 Goldwing Air Filter Replacement

Good luck

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post