Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello all,

I'm new to this lark!! as a lapsed winger I have just brought a UK spec 1800 on an 02 plate, it has no tail/brake lights in the saddlebags. I have the bulb holder but seem to of lost my confidence with the wiring, anybody help with some easy to understand instructions?!!!!!!!! Believe me they need to be very easy to understand, this is the first job I have done on this bike and have to get it right!!!!!!!

·
Premium Member
590 Posts
imported post

Hi Snowflake and welcome to the best Goldwing web site.

What I did, is purchased the two harnesses from "HondaDirectLine" and at the same time the various bulbs and bulb holders. Depending on which version of bike you have (USA Spec or UK Spec or EU Spec) depends on wire colours. If a USA bike then its plug and play, all others its find the wiring diagram and match wires to suit.
The saddle bag lamps already have provision for the holders but you will need to remove some of the plastic that fills it in.

Be careful unscrewing the nuts that hold the lenses in as some are going round and round.

Its a PIA but worth it when you finish

·
Premium Member
21,185 Posts
imported post

Hi Snowflake,

since you have the European spec bike it wil not have plug and play facility, so you will need to splice into the wiring for the top box lighting.

As Globetrotter said, you will need to drill and file out the back of the lamp housing, but the outline is at least marked out to follow. Thsi will be likely to leave plastic swarf in the lense area, which you should shake or vacuum out.

Two small holes can be drilled in the bottom inside corners of the panniers to allow the wires to be routed up to under the top box. If you remove the trunk under panel this will give you access to the wiring for the top box lights.