Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Wouldn't allow more than 1 pic so here is one of the front. All the parts are there, in the compartments and in boxes.

Attachments

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
imported post

Deer whistles? Any idea how long the heads have been off, and has it sat outside for sometime with the heads off? Little things can be fixed (if you can find the parts) but if the engine is toast, you have a problem

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Jerry, Having been a mechanic for 40 years and Tim's expertise as a mechanic I consider a lot of things to be an temporaryimpossability. The motor has been apart for awhile but it has not set outside while apart. It has been in the storage shed. :waving:

·
Premium Member
6,132 Posts
imported post

Thats the greatest bike I have see in a long time....... Deer Whistles..... You know the PO took care of that baby!!

I Like Deer Whistles! They work

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
imported post

I have been an amateur mechanic for over 40 years, but I mostly specialize in vintage cars, and vintage based race cars. Have built a lot of vintage car engines, more small block Chevys than anything else. Built my current drag race car, small block Chevy in an '85 Camaro body.

But motorcycles are different. You can get parts for a small block Chevy anywhere, from stock parts to high dollar racing parts. There is literally a ton of information out there on building one. Motorcycle engines, except for Harleys, are not designed to be rebuilt, many parts for a bike that old are not available anymore (I ran into this big time working on my own 1200) and many parts that can be remachined and reused in car engines have the be replaced in motorcycle engines. For example, if the cam/head clearance is to great, or if either is damaged, both have to be replaced, as there are no bearings.