Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I would like to see 5th gear made taller in order to reduce rpm at 60 mph to @ 2000 rpm or 2500 rpm at 70 mph.

This would improve fuel consumption and quiet a very busy engine at highway speeds.

The alternator should still make plenty of juice, otherwise change the drive gear on the alternator too.

A 6 speed trans is too much to hope for.

I've been asking dealers for this same fix since my 1981 Interstate.

They don't listen...maybe they'll read!

Rich

Oak Ridge, NJ

·
Premium Member
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
imported post

Just curious...None of you have an opinion on the gearing of the Goldwing?

·
Premium Member
1,207 Posts
imported post

Well maybe they aqre all like me, and just agree with you :)

·
Other side of the pond
3,409 Posts
imported post

I actuall think a 6th gear would work better. 5th is long enough as is.

·
Premium Member
1,104 Posts
imported post

I would like a little taller gear. 65 mph is right at 3000 rpm and anything above that, I get lousy gas mileage. If I can keep it at 55mph, I get 40 - 42 mpg...on a good day. If I keep it at 70 - 75mph all day on the interstate, I get nobetter than 34 - 36 mpg. Would a taller gear interfere with pulling my trailer? :baffled:

...and would changing differential gear be easier or more feasible?

·
Premium Member
21,185 Posts
imported post

I agree with the gearing issue. This might be better achieved by a 6th gear, acting as an overdrive. I see no reason that the engine should be revving so high whilst cruising down a motorway/ freeway. Even my Mercedes van has a 6th gear, so why not on a Wing? If pulling a trailer was a problem, then all one would need to do, is drop a gear, but this would surely only be necessary on inclines.

·
Premium Member
19 Posts
imported post