Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello all,

I'm looking for a little help from you experts.

I've been riding Harley's since 1976. I just sold my '03 100th Anny RoadGlide a couple weeks ago and now my custom chopper. I want to get a sidecar rig so I can take my dog with me on rides. I looked at a 1990 GL1500 with 45K miles on it. It's very clean and everything works but it does need a new clutch. What else should I look for? The price seams pretty cheap ($4500 with the sidecar) so I'm wondering what else might be bad.I have never riden one of these before so I have no idea what to expect. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,020 Posts
imported post

Sounds like a good deal, clutches are not to bad to replace.
How do you know it has a bad clutch? Did the owner tell you, or did you test ride it and find out that way?

·
Premium Member
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Owner told me. I want to bring it to a dealer tomorrow to have it checked out but was wondering what else to look for.

·
Premium Member
1,020 Posts
imported post

Just general things, like evidence of a crash, handling problems or any damage.
The 1500's were bullet proof in my book.

Might want to look into new timing belts if you buy it.

·
Premium Member
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

Thanks, John. When should timing belts be replaced (mileage)? Any idea of a ballpark price on that and clutch?

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

$4500 with a hack is an excellent price even if the bike needs a fair amount of work, normally a '90 with low mileage like that would go for $6000+. Sounds to me like you got a rare deal.

·
Guru
3,074 Posts
imported post

You need a new clutch because of the added drag of the side car. See if you are able to get a performance clutch pack to help the clutch life last.