1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, hello, I am new to the f0rum and this is my first post so here's an intro:

(Pronounced:
_____Ar-Kay)
I am Archae, I had a suzuki before this mðtorcycle but other than that this is my first bike. It's a 1980 GW GL1100. It has been taking the cold of the w!nter here in C0lorado under a tarp... for nearly 2 years. Before; it was garaged at my old place (It was well maintained and garaged by previous owner). Unfortunately after about a year of prepping myself for a [email protected] @broad; my plan fell through and the motourcycle ended up being the only thing I still owned worth anything. ... Sell it?
The gremlin meant too much to me to do that.
Though it's been slowly eroding in the w3ather, and I have very little idea how to maintain the Gremlin; I have held onto it.
So now onto my question(s).

I have 2 "MB Quart DKC169"http://www.usaworldsales.com/products/MB_Quart_DKC_169_6_x_9_inch_2_Way_Coaxial_Car_Speakers-7333-809.html speakers and a "W3 v2 Dual 4ohm voice coil subw00fer" http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4212_JL-Audio-12W3v2-D4-Dual-4-ohms-12W3v2.html

and for the amp I have a MTX Audio Thunder 4250D http://archive.mtx.com/caraudio/archive/thunder4250d.cfm

Question 1: What do I use for wire?
Is 18 gauge 2 conductor speaker wire good enough?
Question 2: Power for the amp can come straight from the positive side of battery can't it? Are there any problems with doing this?
Question 3: Is there any way I can include the original speakers with this setup? If so, would the wire stated above be able to connect them to the amp?
Question 4: Do these questions feel a bit redundant?

The plan is to have the 2 speakers positioned forward in the two side compartments of Gremlin and the big sub inside the middle compartment, with this one I'm still up in the air, be it; facing forward/toward ground/facing up out of compartment with no holes drilled.