Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Forum Diplomat
7,368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Although I have a degree in it, I am a weak historian. Nevertheless, weak historian or not, I believe that in general, down through the ages, nomadic peoplehave been more satisfied andhappy than thosefenced up in cities.

The Bedouin on his camel, the Comanche on his war pony, the Mongo with his composite bow, the Eskimo with his dogsled... none of them had any psychiatrists on retainer! They had few possessions, but those they had were cherished and repaired and appreciated daily. The onlything they had in abundance was freedom --the unlimited skies above and the ever-changing horizons before them-- and in this freedom was their very self-fulfillment, their very happiness. The fact that they were happy cannot be disputed. Many early Indian white captives, once rescued, would often run off to rejoin the nomadic tribes that had taken them. This was a very common issue on the American frontier.

I think the attraction of motorcycle touring to me is rooted in this phenomenon. We own too much. I am most happy when I can see everything I"own," when I can cherish and repair andappreciate what I have, and then store it securely away in the bags on my bike, just as did a Bedouin caravanner or a Comanchewarriorso long ago....with every item having a place and purpose.Most of the unhappiness in my life has been causedby things I "own" but don't really need. To have little andto not know in the morning where I will sleep that night is pure joy to me.... to know that whether I get there or not depends mostlyupon me and the stuff in my bags... joy. Joy,pure and simple.