Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2010 GL 1800. getting time for new tires. I seen others posting about getting car tires for their Bike. What are the pros and cons to using a car tire and what size for the front and rear to you use? Definitely a radial tire.

·
Administrator
26,566 Posts
A 195/55 16 is the closest size to the original rear tire. You CAN NOT put a car tire on the front,
I have been running a car tire on the rear for 12 years, don't know of any cons. It lasts longer, rides better has better traction & after a few miles of getting used to it handles just as good.

·
Premium Member
1,580 Posts
I haven't ran a car tire on any bike but lots of riders do. The contact patch is very small when on a curve road, people say the C/T tire takes time to get used to but it does give better mileage. Honda shops will NOT install one due to liability issues.
Watch at all the way, I will admit this is not the norm with a car tire.

·
Premium Member
1,580 Posts
This is a great video in favor of the car tire

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,195 Posts
the CT actually presents more contact patch on a curve than the MT does.
and it DAMN SURE does a lot better job in the rain....

I have both, on my 1800 lately, I am using the E4 simply because I'm only riding maybe 25 miles a week? and my skill set is eroded badly.

the E4 leans w/o complaint, the CT exhibits a little bit of "push me over please", it will not lean over w/o you helping it. I found it to want to straighten out the curves and push me to the outside of the curve.... but again, I am not riding every day anymore.

·
Administrator
26,566 Posts
the CT actually presents more contact patch on a curve than the MT does.
and it DAMN SURE does a lot better job in the rain....