Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Back in May I bought an '83 Interstate and have put money, time, blood, sweat (I live in Florida!), and, well, no tears, into it. It was running great and was beginning to look quite nice and then back in October it started running poorly over a period of about a week. I did some troubleshooting to figure out what has gone wrong but I'm not very good at it and now I can't even get it started. Because the bug to ride had bitten so badly, I went out and bought an '04 1800. I am loving the new (to me) ride and don't plan on putting any more of the above mentioned items into the '83. So, I've been planning on parting it out to recoup some of my investment. Those of you who have done this, is it worth the time tearing down, cleaning, posting, and shipping? Would it be better to try to sell it as is or would I take a huge beating on it?

·
Registered
353 Posts
Just so you are aware, you will probably end up with a lot of stuff that just won't sell. As far as how far in the hole you are going to go, well, I don't know how much you paid.

Why not put the whole bike up on *that* aution site, less hassle, and it's all gone as one.

I've parted out cars before, it took a long time, but I was lucky, I sold everything as the car was very very rare (Citroën SM). The GL1100 is not that rare.

Cosmo

·
Premium Member
375 Posts
Yeah there are always a lot of parts you end up stuck with that wont sell. I have parted out a lot of bikes & you end up with quite a bit left over usually. I don't know what you have in it but it might be worth just selling whole if you don't want parts laying around for ever. I know you put a lot of sweat in it I am in Florida to a couple hours from you.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts