Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Premium Member
760 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I get tired of people insulting my intelligence because I sometimes choose not to wear a helmet. I have been a college professor. I am a Double E engineer and I am flown all over the world to solve problems for some of the top scientists in the field of battery chemistry. So my choice not to wear a helmet is not because I am to stupid to realize that my head is softer then concrete. I have been riding since I passed the motorcycle safety course 28 years ago. I have had some spills, some more serious then others. I have luckily never hit my head hard. I have also sledded and skied down mountains, raced dirt bikes, and I use to love free form cliff climbing. For me it is all about living, not quality but quality. When the weather is permitting I love to feel the wind in what hair is left on my head. I sometimes like to ride with no radio so that I can hear the world around me. With out a helmet my peripheral vision is greater, and my ability to smell and hear increases my awareness. I can remember several times in which I avoided an accident because I heard the squall of brakes and smelled rubber around me. When the weather is not cooperative then I am glad that I have my helmet so I don't have to take the cage. I hope to be able to give my great grand kids rides when I am in my 80's, but if I bust my head wide open tomorrow I will have lived a fantastic life living free my own way. I would not relish living like my cousin who wore his helmet and survived to sit in a wheel chair for the last 15 years with no use of anything beneath his shoulders. That may sound preferable to many but not me. What is a safe and acceptable risk should be up to the individual. It is my life to live and like it or not everybody dies. Don't worry about me spending your tax money on Medicare I pay my insurance and I carry a living will. According to my mother anybody that