Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

Help

I bought a beautiful 78 GL100 Goldwing in April with the intentions of rideing it to work & on vacation. I gave it until I few weeks ago when I finally gave up & sold it. My legs were just to short to reach the ground on both sides. I've been riding for over 30 years so I know that I should be able to handle it but I just couldn't. I loved the ride & comfort of the bike but I just could not overcome the fear of not being able to put both feet on the ground. Some one told me that there were some that were made a little shorter. Can anyone tell me what to look for. I have been looking on Ebay but no one I talk to is 5' 8" they are usually taller.

Thanks

Timekeeper

·
Premium Member
4,882 Posts
imported post

sorry to hear you sold the bike... I am 5'7" and have no trouble with my 1000 (hated BMW's though)... was this your first big bike? Then the problem may have been getting used to a big bike. I started on a CB360T and when I first drove a wing I thought it was VERY difficult to handle. Once I relaxed I discovered that was not true. However, you cannot expect your fott to stop a 500-700# bike like it might with a 200-300# bike.

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
imported post