Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Went to church this morning and it was great "The River Jordans" gospel singing group was there and as usual they were wonderful. Came home, looked at my 86 Aspencade and said I've got to do it some time so why not right now. I have a 250 Rebel so im not a complete novice but what a huge difference. Talk about being in your glory....wow. High speed was a piece of cake of course but when it came to a red light or a corner now that was a different story. Didn't have much trouble but I was a nervous wreck. The slower I went the more nervous I got. But after 21 miles I was back home again and just got out of the shower.

One thing that bothered me was the clunking sound as I changed gears. OD was the only gear that didn't do it. I tried different amounts of clutch and that made no difference. I have always squeezed the clutch all the way before shifting so it was a surprise when I heard the clunk. Now im wondering if a oil change is necessary before I ride it again. At least that is the case with my Rebel.

No smoke at all since I keep it on the center stand. It's going to take a number of rides before I take my wife on a ride with me thats for sure.

Many thanks for all the info you guys have posted here in this forum. I've read quite a few pages. :applause:I applaud you all.

Harold

·
Premium Member
1,027 Posts
imported post

Broke Winger wrote:
The clunking is normal.
+1. My '87 Aspy has done it since I bought it 3 years ago, and my mechanic tells me it is normal.

Welcome!!:waving::waving::waving::waving:

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

Thanks guys, I surely do appreciate the input. The oil in my bike looks like it is new.

Now to figure out how to use the cruise control.

i've got so much to learn and loving every minute of it. Huge thunderstorm just west of Ocala so im not even able to go out and look at it.