Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm new to GoldWings can anyone tell me the preload setting for a 1979 1000cc Goldwing's steering stem?
TIA
KZCSI

·
Premium Member
510 Posts
imported post

Hey, it looks like I dragged another one over from the KZ site!

Sorry I can't help you with the exact setting, except to note that if it's an original bearing, you may want to look at replacing it. Many wings are really loose.

What I did to tighten my stem was to simply put the bike on centerstand, and jack up the front so the wheel is off the ground. Then I kept tightening until the front end would just barely flop over from center when pushed.

·
Premium Member
1,088 Posts
imported post

Hi V and welcome to the forum. 14psi is the setting, but you are probably better off adjusting it by feel. Torqueing to a book setting isn't always a great idea on steering as variations in bearings will either make it too tight or too sloppy, just take the book setting as a guide. Do it by hand yourself until it feels right, ie no binding or tight spots and not too loose either.

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

Hey Phil,
Thanks for the connection to this site.
I learned a lesson last year about steering head bearings that I'll not soon forget.