Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Does anyone have any experence towing a goldwing using the type of tow cradle that goes into the trailer hitch of your vech and the front wheel of the bike goes into the cradle. I am thinking about getting one but wanted to research it first.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
238 Posts
imported post

I have NO experience with that type of towing. That being said, several years ago, before the Goldwing, I saw a cycle being towed that way. It was leaning to one side and appeared to be putting a lot of twist on the forks. As Sgt Schultz would say, "I know nothing". Hopefully someone with some personal experience or knowledge will be along in a few minutes.

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,135 Posts
imported post

I have towed a bike that way for 1,000s of miles.

BUT!!! It was chain drive and I removed the chain. Plus, you always use tie down straps to the handlebars. Do NOT depend on the wheel to hold the bike upright. good way to break something.

I would highly suggest that if you pulled a Goldwing that way, you will most likely be doing tranny work in the near future.

No oil on moving parts. Not a good thing.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

My worry with a 'Wing would be the weight of the bike. Holding it upright by the front wheel would put some pretty great stress on the forks, steering stem and frame neck. The other concern I'd have would be the final drive shaft in the transmission. With the engine not running there's no oil pumped into the transmission which may cause accelerated wear.

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
imported post

I've also seen bikes towed in the manner you suggest. I didn't like it at all. I wouldn't want my Wing towed like that for the reasons given - I thought it was extremely hard on the steering head.