Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I did a quick search here, but didn't find things out to my satisfaction.

For the 1500 owners: do you have a brand recommendation for a trailer hitch, and how hard/easy is the installation?

I'm no mechanic, but I've been into my bike all winter....from front and rear speaker installation to changing out oil, air and gas filters, spark plugs, etc....I'm learning. With that as the basis of my experience, though........should I attempt to install the hitch? Do the saddlebags have to come off, and is that a huge pain?

Thanks for any and all opinions......we all have one, y'know.....:D

·
Premium Member
167 Posts
imported post

from what I have seen they are all pretty much simular/same. Mine is a markland receiver type, there are platform hitches also like the older bikes had. I have one my venture they are ok. With some creativity a guy could make into a receiver but............

Anyhow, these can be found readily on ebay and some of the other auction sites, used to run up to a couple of hundred dollars but now are prety cheap. If you find one not sure of it post a link so folks can see if its actually for the bike. I have seen some advertised fitting all year models when they are not.

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

Thanks guys......have seen the various models, even had a winger nearby offer to build one for me. Mainly wondering on successes and complaints on various models. You do have to drop the saddlebags?

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

no it justs bolts onto the saddle bag rails under neath and the back crash bar you dont even have to jack the bike

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

Well, thank you, I'm SOLD! :action:

·
Life Time Premium Member
3,918 Posts
imported post

Next step: wiring.

Here is a repost of mine from September.