Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got the dreaded 4th gear clash and from what I've read, you can swap in the 97 and up GL1500 transmission
gearset. I would like to clarify if this is true or not as my bike is currently immobile because of this and I need to get on it.
Thanks, Ski.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know that's the 'general' fix people opt for, but an engine is not in the budget and I wrench for a living so splitting the cases and going in is no issue for me. I just need to verify the gearset (shafts, gears, forks, drum, etc) will go in.

·
Magic Moderator
5,120 Posts
Welcome Aboard.
:)
You can interchange the parts.
There's all the parts to order to do the job.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Welcome Aboard.
:)
You can interchange the parts.
There's all the parts to order to do the job.
Thanks! I did use parts lookup to a point checking the engine case and a few other things.but the changed the gearset design in 97 with the Valkyrie and rolled them into the GW so the part numbers changed though I'm sure they superseded. I knew someone would know for sure. I have access to a complete 98 trans out of the case and i have no issue putting the time in to fix it. Not sure how this happened at 20k miles, but I also don't know the history of the original owner other than he managed
to lay it down and or drop it twice. smh... I'm south of Seattle.

·
Registered
114 Posts