Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The wife and I have decided it is time for a trike conversion if we plan on continuing to ride. The question is to those that have a trike or to others that have knowledge or have ridden one, any ideas of on preference of kit and why. Also any options that I should be sure to include. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
A very good friend of mine owns a 2012 with the California Side Car trike kit. It's either a Viper or Cobra model. It is nice and has independent suspension. He loves it.

·
Trike Master
1,266 Posts
The choice is yours to make. No one knows which one you will think is best.
Having said that, I studied and tested all the major brands for almost 4 years prior to picking my brand.
I found immediately, for me, the choice was going to be IRS.
Then discovered those that lengthened the wheel base provided the smoothest ride,especially for the passenger. Moving the rear wheels out from under the passengers bottom made a huge difference for the wife.
IMO, the simpler the design the less chance for problems IE no air bags, no fancy/dancy suspension systems with redundant parts serving the same functions!
You also should consider picking the installer is almost equally important as getting the right unit for you.
Wife and I narrowed our picks to 3 (Hannigan, Motor Trike and RoadSmith)
Decided to visit the "homes" of these trikes and never got passed our visit to Hannigan in Murray, Ky!
We were given a tour of the facility and then shown a brand new Wing w/a Hannigan kit installed. We were told, "We usually close around 5. If you could be back by then, we would appreciate it!"
Hannigan makes a very nice conversion for the 1500 Wing:
http://www.hannigantrikes.com/content/xSpecsPDF/GL1500-Spacs2011.pdf