Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i recently started wearing a Level IIIA ballistic vest while riding. The material is claimed to resist punctures from ice picks, knives, etc. Any thoughts about the benefit of this vest for trauma in a motorcycle accident?

·
Administrator
22,365 Posts
I'm no expert but I am under the impression that head bangs are the biggest killer, even with a helmet. But, in general, motorcycle crash injuries are from blunt-force trauma.

So, if you wear the vest on your head...

·
Monkey with a Football
19,237 Posts
I've been in a few bike wrecks and I can tell you that arms, shoulders, hands, elbows, legs, hips, knees, feet, head and butt took nearly all the damage every time.
I only wore vests for warmth.

·
Administrator
25,728 Posts
Well, it won't hurt you to wear it and it might save you from broken ribs or the off chance of something that would puncture your torso.

·
Monkey with a Football
19,237 Posts
Well, it won't hurt you to wear it and it might save you from broken ribs or the off chance of something that would puncture your torso.
True, like handlebars or broken windshield. And the occasional knife or other vehicle debris.

·
Administrator
22,365 Posts
I agree that there might be sharp things sticking out during a crash, but the clothing recommended by the MSF doesn't seem to have a "puncture resistant" breast plate. Some of the high-end suits have spinal impact protection but mostly they want to protect shoulders, elbows, butt and knees from impact and abrasion.

In your climate, I think I'd be concerned about the heat being trapped by an insulated vest.

·
Premium Member
461 Posts