Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Recently changed a head gasket on my 1200,and ran it out of time and bent 2 valves, when I pulled the head again, I see the marks on the top of the pistons left from the valves hitting. How do you know if the pistons are still Ok, anyway of telling ?

Cheers Bob

·
Premium Member
5,106 Posts
imported post

well as long as the pistons arent majorly damaged with tons and tons of hits

i would just take some sand paper and smooth off the dings so you wont have any hot spots on the piston

·
Premium Member
1,175 Posts
imported post

I'm with Peterbuilt, polish the piston tops and put it back together. Don't feel like the Lone Ranger ether.

Steve

·
Premium Member
1,173 Posts
imported post

I am not sure on this because I am just an amateur wannabe Bike mechanic. But..if they are hitting the pistons it seems to me it may be an indication of something else wrong.Change the belts recently or have you done them? If not I think I would start there and get everything lined up. I could be just blowing smoke but it just seems like a place to start.:waving:

·
Premium Member
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

Thanks appreciate the help, I'll do just what you said. I had the cam out of time and hadn't realised it. Picked a the wrong day to do it, my head was miles away that day.
Thanks again guys.
Cheers Bob.

·
Banned
1,176 Posts
imported post

ceasefire49 wrote:
I am not sure on this because I am just an amateur wannabe Bike mechanic. But..if they are hitting the pistons it seems to me it may be an indication of something else wrong.Change the belts recently or have you done them? If not I think I would start there and get everything lined up. I could be just blowing smoke but it just seems like a place to start.:waving:
CF,

He said he ran it out of time, that's how the incident occurred.

Petebuilt/Sky Pilot,