Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
713 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

Does anyone have a vtx 1300 or 1800 that they own or have owned in the past? Was thinking about purchasing one. But my first choice is th gl 1500. I guess that would be apples and oranges. All thoughts will be appreciated as usual!!

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
imported post

On my last visit to Station Park Honda in Louisville they had a new VTX1800 back in the sevice bay they were detailing for its new owner, it had Vance & Hines pipes on it and when they fired it up it sounded meaner than any Harley Ive heard.
My suggestion is to ride both bikes before you make a decision and find out which one suites your riding style better.

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
imported post

I ride a 1500 Aspencade and my bud rides a VTX1800 and we switch now and then.

This is my 4th Goldwing so I have some experience with them. I also have had around 50 bikes in the over 40 years I have been riding. Along with 4 nice Harley's and a couple of beater Harley's.

In my honest Opinion The VTX is the Smoothest, Strongest, Twin I have EVER had the pleasure to straddle. But it always feels like you want another gear when Traveling.

You have to power to pull hills or pass without downshifting.

Matter of Fact the Bike is So strong that if you are not hanging on tight and Nail the throttle the bike will leave you behind.

But you cant beat the comfort of the Wing.

You need to ride em both and make your own assessment.

I would own a VTX in a heartbeat if it wasn't such a Harley Clone.

That part of all these wanna be bike that bug me. I think the bikes are aewsome but hate that they gotta make em look like a Harley.

Just me.

Mohawk

·
Premium Member
99 Posts
imported post