Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

where is the waterpump located and how long does it take to replace it ?

·
Premium Member
2,249 Posts
imported post

On a 1100 it is to the left of the oil filter. I would say for a first timer 4 to 6 hours.

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

thank you for your quick responce. are you talking about sitting on the bike; its on the left side of the oil filter?

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
imported post

SItting on the bike it is on the left or road side of the bike. Make sure to update you're login with you're location. You never know you may live down the street from one of us.

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

good idea i live in fairview,tennessee. asyou may already figured out i'm not very good at typing either .

many thanks;

peanut

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
imported post

Welcome aboard. When you do the waterpump make sure you don't overtorque the bolts or use silicone on the gaskets. It is a pretty easy repair. Are you planning on replacing the waterpump with new or rebuilding yours?

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
imported post

the guy that rebuilt my carbs said it may need replacing soon. Its a 1982 goodwing with supposling 38000 miles its doing fine for the last 3500 miles. doesn't leak at all and doesn't overheat either.

thanks;

peanut

·
Premium Member
600 Posts
imported post

They have an old and new style pump. If you have the old style it will have a bak o lite impeller the new style will have a metal impeller. The old style impeller will most likely break when you try to disassemble the pump to replace the bearings and seals. Save yourself the heartache, buy a new pump before you pull it apart.

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
imported post