Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I installed armrests today and while I was at it I changed the fuel filter, checked air cleaner and put it all back together. Bike wouldn't start. I cranked until the battery got too low to turn it over. Went in the house for a bit, came out and tried again. Still no fire. This bike has never failed to start.

Well...............somehow I had bumped the kill switch to stop. Damn I've never done that before. Turned the kill switch back to on and what do you know...it started right up..after I charged the battery.

Another lesson learned. I suppose I should have checked that the very first thing. I've been riding all my life and that's the first time I've done that. I could live without a kill switch. Seems to me the ignition switch is just as close if needed.

·
Premium Member
57 Posts
imported post

Hey, Mike, I towed mine home once and was tearing into the wiring when my gal asked very softly, "What's this button for.........?" Heard about that a lot...........Never did that again! JP

·
Premium Member
11,739 Posts
imported post

been there done that and was awarded the dopey T SHIRT ...ciaran

·
Premium Member
1,923 Posts
imported post

I got the T shirt and the Cap!!

G

·
0 Posts
imported post

I cant remember how the kill switch worked on my neighbours :15red:but on his :18red:when the switch is applied the starter wont operate untill the switch is released, so you cant run down the battery. :clapper:

:weightlifter::18red::weightlifter:

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
imported post

Well that's a good feature. I can guarantee you my 1500 isn't wired like that. Starter will definately spin with kill switch in off position.

·
Premium Member
760 Posts
imported post

Well I have never ever done anything like that. Thats my story and I'm stickin to it. But we won't talk about my wife and her wing.

·
Postpubescent member