Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

It's time to get a new battery for my 78 Wing. Lots of choices! Any thoughts and comments as to type, style etc are welcomed . Tim

:cool:Happy New Year :leprechaun:

:11black::11black: :11black:

·
Administrator
26,570 Posts
imported post

Myself, I would go for a sealed maintenance free battery instead of a vented one just to keep from having to keep an eye on the water level.

·
Premium Member
200 Posts
imported post

Yuasa is the best but expensive. Walmart stocks batteries that will fit and they hold up very well. I've been running them for many years.

Q

·
Premium Member
2,250 Posts
imported post

I have thought about a sealed battery, but have never done it. I seem to always go back to an Interstate Cycletron. They last 3 to 5 years in my goldwings and never had a problem.

·
Premium Member
4,379 Posts
imported post

most wings i've seen are running Wal-marts battery and they seem to last pretty nice for the 45 bucks they are worth. :)if u want the best battery get the odyssey dry cell

·
Premium Member
542 Posts
imported post

I've always run diehards 28yrs on my 81 gl1100 and had good luck, 3+ yrs on them until I got a battery tender jr's and I get 4 + yrs. on a them for $53+ a battery. As far as maintance free , they are good too but pricey. Do like I do, check tire presure once a week and all fluids as well. A good practice.

·
Premium Member
1,765 Posts
imported post

When I had my 83 1100 it would leak acid on the exhaust causing the exhaust to be discolored. The battery held up good but that broke me from a wet cell battery. I always use the maintenance free sealed battery now.

·
Premium Member
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
imported post

Thanks for the comments guys. I'm thinking maintence free is sounding pretty good. I like not having to check the fluid level. What about CCAs and amp hours. Is more better? Tim

·
Premium Member