Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
558 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I am fairly new to the Goldwing world. I had a GL1100 for a while, and I now have a 1986 GL1200 Interstate. Recently I have been thinking about getting a GL1500. After being on a 1998 GL1500 SE yesterday, I'm not sure that I want one. That thing was huge!:shock: The fairing is massive. I compared it to the new 1800's. and the 1800's look much more appealing to me, but way out of my price range.
My question is...are all model years of the 1500 the same size? I was thinking that I had seen smaller ones than the one I was on!

·
Registered
3,235 Posts
imported post

Generally speaking they are all pretty much the same bike... but the later ones seem to have overcome some transmission issues. Don't let the heft scare you... these brutes are really ballerinas.

·
Premium Member
280 Posts
imported post

1800's were out of my price range too so I bought a 2000 1500. Personally I think it was a good decision.

·
Premium Member
558 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

us385south wrote:
Generally speaking they are all pretty much the same bike... but the later ones seem to have overcome some transmission issues. Don't let the heft scare you... these brutes are really ballerinas.
By "later ones", what year do you think was the first to overcome the tranny issues?
I have not taken the 1500 for a test ride yet. Compared to the 1200, how good are the 1500's balanced for handling? I'm not too tall..5' 8", and I can just barely put both feet flat on the ground while on my GL1200!

·
Premium Member
100 Posts
imported post

When you first log on this site, you'll see a tab for "Goldwing History".
Click on that and read the write ups on all the models/years.
That will get you more familiar with the differences in Wings.
Hope this helps..

·
Registered
3,235 Posts
imported post

CBH wrote:
us385south wrote: