Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Given as it was snowing this morning, I thought a thread on winter riding might be appropriate.

I've been riding in winter since 1982, just so you know. My personal temp record is -15 F to and from work.

Personal gear I use has varied somewhat, but am now down to a Widder electric vest and chaps I bought in 1985, Aerostar boots, a pair of snow pants, a US Navy pullover that is scary warm, my usual riding jacket and my rain jacket top, to cut the wind. Plus various sweatshirts and long undies, depends on the temp and length of ride.

Were I to tog up today, I'd go with an electric jacket (or vest with sleeves), the rest works out well enough not to want to change.

The bike gets: Hippo Hands, heated grips and seat, winter covers for the radiator outlets, extra air wings to direct air away from my legs, and I am going to try a second battery in a spare left saddlebag, just to give a bit more when the temps are below 0. Thinking of a U-1 lawn tractor battery, though I have another GW battery on the shelf, too.

If finances permit, a sidecar will be Really helpful on those snowy days. I've had in the past, and t'was like a street legal snowmobile.

Those are what I do/use, what are your techniques and ideas??

Cosmo

P.S. I've already been called crazy, a couple (dozen? hundred?) times.

·
Registered
261 Posts
I leave and go to California. ;-) Actually, I live in Northern Kentucky, just south of Cincinnati. The winters here allow for some riding days so I wasn't planning on winterizing my bike. I know this isn't a riding question but I don't have a heated garage. I was wondering if I keep a full cover on it and a ceramic heater under it, would that be enough so I call pull it out and ride 3 or 4 times during the winter months?

·
Registered
292 Posts